Hiking in & around LA! mostly to waterfalls……

Hello Friends,

So I’ve been meaning to blog about my hikes for awhile now (about a month and a half!). My boyfriend James and I enjoy hiking to waterfalls as much as possible. Check out photos from a few here on my flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/julieklima/collections/72157621302778099/

(All info on directions & length come from the book The Definitive Guide to Waterfalls of Southern & Central California by Chris Shaffer.)

June 8th, we went to Switzer Falls in La Canada. It’s about 3.6 miles, very easy hike. I rate it about a 4 out of 10.

Switzer Canyon Falls in La Canada

Switzer Canyon - Upper Falls in La Canada

Switzer Canyon- Lower Falls

Switzer Canyon- Lower Falls

My flickr has photos from along the entire hike for you to check out. We keep hiking later in the day, so we don’t get the chance to go in the water. I loved the views on the way there & back, though!

Directions to Switzer: From the 210 Fwy in La Canada, take Hwy 2 north and drive 9.8 miles to the Switzer Picnic Area on the right.

We went to Millard Canyon Falls on June 14th. This is a short hike- about 1 mile- and really easy. I rate it a 7. I like the waterfall a lot more than Switzer. Here is a couple of photos:

me @ Millard Canyon Falls

me @ Millard Canyon Falls

along the way to the millard falls.....

along the way to the millard falls.....

Directions: From the 210Fwy in Pasadena, exit Lake Ave & go north. Drive 3.5miles to Loma Alta Dr & turn Left. In one mile you’ll come to a flashing yellow light and see a sign for the Chaney Trail. Turn right & drive approx. 1.5 miles to Millard Campground.

As you can see from the photos in this set, there are houses in the beginning of the trail. Some pipes are along the way too. Not so exciting to see πŸ™‚ but the trail is nice. There’s no water to swim in at this waterfall. I love this portrait I took of my boyfriend.

James :)

James πŸ™‚

One more hike for now………Eaton Canyon Falls in Pasadena.It’s 3 miles and I rate it a 6 out of 10.

I actually did still photography for a documentary about Benjamin Eaton called “Eaton’s Water”, which is about how Mr. Eaton brought water out of the San Gabriel Mountains to develop Pasadena, Altadena & South Pas (read about it & see a photo I took here: http://www.pasadenaweekly.com/cms/story/detail/?id=4234&IssueNum=55). For more photos from the documentary, go to my website: http://julieklima.com/stills-eatons.html . The film is distributed to various schools in the area. For even more about the film, go to the official website: http://www.eatonswater.com/.

Benjamin Eaton & his wife Alice; photo by Julie Klima

Benjamin Eaton & his wife Alice from Eaton's Water; photo by Julie Klima

Eaton Canyon Falls

Eaton Canyon Falls

Eaton Canyon Falls trail

Eaton Canyon Falls trail

You can swim at this waterfall! My best friend Kristina would hike to it and swim, but I never went until recently. Of course, it was late in the day so I didn’t bring my suit. Next time! There were other people there (as you can see in the photos), who had some beer. They gave me and my boyfriend a beer, so that was nice πŸ™‚ hehe. Definitely a great hike!

Directions: From the 210Fwy in Pasadena, drive east & exit Altadena Dr. Drive 1.6miles north on Altadena to Eaton County Park.

Hope you enjoy this! I’ll blog about more as I hike more. I have a couple which I still need to post photos for.

Cheers,

QS

Leave a Reply

